Getting CDs at your Public Library

One of my favorite things about visiting my local Public Library is the selection of media. I had always thought that libraries were just for books, and when I was younger that was all I used them for. Nowadays libraries are so much more than a place to borrow books. You can check out movies, video games, magazines, and compact discs.

ImageFrom Morguefile.com

Yesterday I visited my local public library for one reason: music. Sadly, in the suburban town I live in there are no music stores. The only way I can buy CDs, apparently a medium that has been losing it’s foothold, is to buy them online. Even then, Amazon has deals where you buy the CD and you will be given the CD as a digital download. Do not get me wrong, I love digital downloads. It is easy to use, store, and you do not have to worry about scratched or morphed discs. But there is just something about holding a CD or a Vinyl Record that does not transfer with digitally downloaded music.

Now I am off topic. Shame on me.

My visit to the public library is done solely to obtain new CDs. Not “new” as in something recently released but “new” as in something I have not listened or do not have yet.

Needless to say, my checkout list can be pretty odd. While yesterday was fairly mild in what I checked out, it is not always the case.

For example, one time I checked out  Backstreet Boys, Vivaldi, John Williams, Dinah Washington, various soundtracks, and a CD of minstrel music.

The library always has a wide range of music. This accommodates my tastes inexplicably well.

Yesterday I checked out three CDs: Wizard of Oz soundtrack, piano rags by Joplin, and Popular songs by World Musicians.

The Wizard of Oz is one of my favorite movies. I read all of Frank Baum’s books and the movie has always been special to me.

I love Joplin. I love ragtime. I was very excited to get a whole CD with his works.

The popular music done by world musicians makes for interesting listening because it is showing songs that we all know but putting them into a different cultural context.

And that was how I spent my afternoon; going through the CDs at the public library.

Leave a Reply

